2009 Laws: Text Messaging in California Video – Don’t Do It While Driving!
Published On: February 22, 2009
We all know how dangerous and annoying it is to text while driving. How about the person crawling in front of you at 10 miles per hour because they’re “safely” texting. Don’t think that this little stunt increases safety! Or the person so involved in their texting that they don’t notice the car in front of them coming to a halt? Well, California has taken care of this issue once and for all (we hope).
This new law makes it an infraction to write, send, or read text-based communication on an electronic wireless communications device, such as a cell phone, while driving a motor vehicle in California. Previously this was only illegal for individuals under 18 years of age, but now has been expanded to all drivers.